Supporting excellence in
patient care, research and education.

Tremblant's 24H of Cycling

 
Cedars Cancer Institute and Sarah’s Fund Express Sincere Gratitude to
Tremblant 24H of Cycling Participants for Raising Over $604,338 for Children’s Causes
MUHC-CUSM Team, a perfect example of a community committed to outstanding health care
 
Montreal, September 19, 2012—On September 15 and 16, 2012, 1,030 cyclists pedalled for 24 hours at the Circuit Mont-Tremblant through sun, rain, wind, fog, and 3o C weather to send a powerful message that not only does physical exercise promote better health for all, but also outstanding health care. Amongst the 125 teams supporting the Cedars Cancer Institute and Sarah’s Fund for pediatric oncology, the Fondation CHU Sainte-Justine, the Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie and the Fondation Mont-Tremblant, the McGill University Health Centre’s (MUHC) riders were like the spokes on a set of wheels: unobtrusive yet instrumental because they added strength to clinical care, research, teaching and health-technology evaluation and transferred a lot of leg power to drive academic health care forward. At the end of the event, a cheque for $604,338 was presented to the beneficiaries. Donations continue to be accepted. 
 
“This is the third year that the Cedars Cancer Institute is a beneficiary of the Tremblant 24H of Cycling and the event keeps getting bigger and better,” stated Jeff Shamie, Executive Director of Cedars. “I’d like to congratulate and thank the organizers, volunteers, sponsors, participants, including our own riders, and donors for making the 2012 event such an enormous success. Cedars is pleased to confirm that its share of the funds will be warmly welcomed by the Hematology-Oncology Ward at the MUHC’s Montreal Children’s Hospital through Sarah’s Fund.
 
The MUHC has been represented each year by a team comprising staff, project partners, consultants, friends and family. This year, they raised $8,100 and they’re already looking to double their total for 2013. In addition, Jeff Shamie and his two daughters, Alexa and Sophia, joined a stream of cyclists for the inspirational Tour de Julien while Anitra Bostock and Aislinn Mosher pedalled with a lot of heart for Sarah’s Fund too, proving that Cedars continues to galvanize families, friends and the community at large to support the very best in cancer care and services.
 
“I’ve always said that the people behind the MUHC make the difference in the lives of our patients and their families and the MUHC-CUSM Tremblant 24H of Cycling team is no exception,” added Normand Rinfret, Director General and CEO of the McGill University Health Centre. “On behalf of our institution, I’d like to thank our cyclists and their donors for their dedication and generosity. World-class academic health care requires a constant commitment, and I am grateful that not only are our people passionate about pursuing excellence but our community is always ready to support our efforts.”
 
The 2012 MUHC-CUSM team included Judith Horrell (captain), Strategic Strategic Advisor, MUHC Executive Office; Pierre Major, Interim Director of Redevelopment Planning and Real Estate Management, MUHC; Michael Shapiro, Project Manager-Emerging Technologies, Consultant for the Research Institute of the MUHC; Louis Gagnon, Vice-President, Groupe Axor; Saadé Fadous, Senior Vice-President-Construction, Consortium Pomerleau-Verreault; Dominique Portelance, Deputy Director, CHUM-CRCHUM-modernization of Montreal’s academic health centres, ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec; Michael Murphy, Sports Trainer, NGC; David Horrell, Entrepreneur, Architecture AV; and Jean-François Massé, Senior Consultant, Optimum Actuaires et Conseillers Inc.
 
“In the middle of the night, as we climbed the steepest hill again and again, a video reminded us that our pain was nothing like what children feel when they’re seriously ill,” stated Judith Horrell. “My teammates and I are glad to do our part every year to improve sick children’s lives while also showing others the benefits of maintaining an active lifestyle. We’re all in our forties or fifties and love to cycle. Our message is simple. Choose any activity that makes you smile and keeps you as healthy as possible, and stick with it! Many thanks to our donors, to Axor, Pomerleau-Verreault and Simard Transport for sponsoring us and to Asbed Palakian (Lumisculpt Productions) for taking great photographs; together, we’re a winning team!”
Share
© Cedars Cancer Foundation
1310 Greene Avenue, Suite 520, Westmount, Quebec H3Z 2B2
Telephone: (514) 656-6662   Fax: (514) 303-1288  
Email: email address  CRA No. 10520-2501-RR-0001     Disclaimer | Privacy

Log In

Soutenez l'excellence dans les
soins cliniques, la recherche et l'éducation

24H de vélo de Tremblant 

L’Institut des Cèdres contre le cancer et le Fonds de Sarah tiennent à exprimer leur immense gratitude aux participants du 24H de vélo de Tremblant pour avoir amassé plus de 604, 338$ pour aider les enfants.
L’équipe du CUSM-MUHC reflète une communauté engagée à offrir des soins de santé exceptionnels.
 
Montréal, le 19 septembre 2012 – Les 15 et 16 septembre 2012, sous le soleil, la pluie, le brouillard et le froid, 1030 cyclistes enfourchaient leur vélo à l’unisson pour pédaler, pendant 24 heures, au circuit du Mont-Tremblant afin de démontrer non seulement que l’exercice physique favorise une meilleure santé mais cela appui des soins de santé hors du commun.  Parmi les 125 équipes encourageant l’Institut des Cèdres contre le cancer et le Fonds Sarah pour les soins en oncologie pédiatrique, la Fondation du CHU Sainte-Justine, le Grand défi Pierre Lavoie et la Fondation du Mont-Tremblant, les cyclistes du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM) se sont unis et dépassés pour épauler  les soins cliniques, la recherche, l’enseignement et  l’évaluation des technologies en santé. Leurs efforts ont contribué à propulser les soins de santé universitaires vers l’avant. Au terme de l’événement, un chèque de 604,338$ était remis aux bénéficiaires. Les dons sont toujours acceptés.
 
« Depuis maintenant trois ans, l’Institut des Cèdres contre le cancer est bénéficiaire du 24H de vélo de Tremblant et l’événement ne cesse de prendre de l’ampleur pour notre plus grand bonheur », souligne Jeff Shamie, directeur général des Cèdres. « Je souhaite remercier et féliciter tous les organisateurs, les bénévoles, les commanditaires et les participants, incluant nos cyclistes et nos donateurs,  pour avoir contribué à faire de cet événement un si grand succès. Les Cèdres est fier d’affirmer que sa part des dons récoltés sera grandement appréciée par l’unité des soins en hémato-oncologie de l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants du CUSM, par l’entremise du Fonds de Sarah. »
 
Chaque année, le CUSM est représenté par une équipe regroupant des membres du personnel, des partenaires, des consultants, des familles et des amis. Cette année, ils ont récolté 8,100$ et ils espèrent doubler le montant en 2013! De plus, Jeff Shamie et ses deux filles, Alexa et Sophia, se sont joint aux nombreux cyclistes pour l’inspirant Tour de Julien. Anitra Bostock et Aislinn Mosher ont aussi pédalé avec beaucoup de coeur pour le Fonds de Sarah, ce qui prouve que L’Institut des Cèdres continue à réunir les familles, les amis et la collectivité afin d’offrir les meilleurs soins et les meilleurs services aux patients atteints du cancer.
 
« Je ne cesse de répéter que les gens derrière le CUSM sont ceux qui font la différence dans la vie de nos patients et de leurs familles. L’équipe de cyclistes du CUSM-MUHC en fait partie à part entière », ajoute Normand Rinfret, directeur général et chef de la direction du CUSM. «  Au nom de notre institution, je souhaite remercier nos cyclistes et leurs donateurs pour leur dévouement et leur grande générosité. La médecine académique de classe mondiale exige beaucoup de dévotion de la part de notre personnel. Quel bonheur de constater que nos gens sont passionnés par la poursuite de l’excellence et que notre communauté nous soutient dans nos efforts! »
 
L’équipe du CUSM-MUHC 2012 était représentée par : Judith Horrell (capitaine), conseillère stratégique principale, Direction générale, CUSM; Pierre Major, directeur par intérim, Planification du redéploiement et Gestion immobilière, CUSM; Michael Shapiro, gestionnaire de projet, Nouvelles technologies, conseiller pour l’Institut de recherche du CUSM; Louis Gagnon, vice-président, Groupe Axor; Saadé Fadous, vice-président principal-Construction, Consortium Pomerleau-Verreault; Dominique Portelance, administrateur délégué, CHUM- CRCHUM, modernisation des CHU de Montréal, ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec; Michael Murphy, entraîneur sportif, NGC; David Horrell, entrepreneur, Architecture AV; et Jean-François Massé, conseiller principal, Optimum Actuaires et Conseillers Inc.
 
«  Alors que dans la noirceur, au beau milieu de la nuit, nous grimpions cette pente abrupte sans fin, une vidéo nous rappelait que notre douleur n’était rien comparée à celle que ressent un enfant lorsqu’il est gravement malade », souligne Judith Horrell. «Chaque année,  mes coéquipiers et moi-même sommes heureux de contribuer à améliorer la qualité de vie des enfants malades et, par la même occasion, de prôner les bienfaits de l’activité physique. Bien que nous soyons tous dans la quarantaine ou dans la cinquantaine, nous adorons pédaler! Notre message est simple : peu importe l’activité que vous choisissez…. Si elle vous fait sourire et vous maintient en forme, priorisez sa pratique! Mille mercis à nos donateurs. à Axor, Pomerleau-Verreault et Transport Simard pour nous avoir commandités, et à Asbed Palakian (productions Lumisculpt) pour les magnifiques photos. Ensemble, nous formons une équipe gagnante! » 
Partager
© Fondation du cancer des Cèdres
1310, avenue Greene, Suite 520, Westmount, Québec H3Z 2B2
Téléphone: (514) 656-6662   Fax: (514) 303-1288
Courriel: adresse de courriel  No. ARC 10520-2501-RR-0001 
Avertissement | Protection de la confidentialité

Connexion