Home › About Cedars › History of Cedars

History of Cedars

Almost 50 years ago, a dedicated group of community-minded individuals joined forces to fight cancer. Since its inception so many years ago, the Cedars Cancer Foundation at the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) has established itself as an independent leader in comprehensive cancer care in Montreal. By raising much-needed funds for medical equipment and facilities, research, and education, Cedars provides invaluable tools, knowledge, and support services to individuals and families who are coping with the disease.

Cedars Cancer Foundation of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) was originally established in 1966 as the Harley Chamandy Memorial Fund of the Royal Victoria Hospital. It later became the Cedars Cancer Research Fund. Planting the seeds for what is today the Cedars Cancer Foundation were a dedicated group from the Lebanese community of Montreal. The original purpose of the organization was, and continues to be, to raise funds for the fight against cancer throughout the MUHC.
Cedars’ beginnings focused on research and the purchase of state-of-the-art diagnostic and treatment equipment and facilities. Over the past 40 years, efforts have leaned toward patient care and cancer education. A network of psycho-social and humanitarian support for the cancer patients and their families is provided by the Cedars CanSupport program and the Wilfrid Howick Humanitarian Endowment Fund. Cedars’ strong commitment to cancer education is demonstrated by the creation of the Fellowship Fund, providing cancer specialists with the opportunity to further their education in order to benefit the hospital, university and, above all, the patient.
In addition, Cedars has created two Annual Visiting Professorships in Oncology which bring world-renowned researchers, educators and physicians to the McGill teaching hospitals. There is the Vivian Saykaly Visiting Professorship in Medical Oncology, established via a generous endowment by the Saykaly family in honour of Vivian Saykaly, and the Edward J. Tabah Visiting Professorship in Surgical Oncology.

Because of its diverse channels towards its goals, Cedars Cancer Foundation has established itself as an organization which is constantly searching for better and more creative ways to facilitate the strain that cancer imposes on the lives of so many people.



Joseph Chamandy
Wallace Saad
Vivian Saykaly
Jim Hindley
Fred Tabah
Allan Chamandy
Ed Siwiec
Mark S. Kaneb
Gwendolyn Nacos
Peter Kouri
Peter Auger
Robert Aziz
Nancy Souaid
Michael Khoury
Peter Abraham
Steven Hajaly

Joseph Chamandy - 1966-1976
A dynamic, tireless individual who rose above personal tragedy and gave Cedars its auspicious start. As Cedars’ first President, Joe Chamandy used his dedication and skills to ensure a strong and viable fund that would be the foundation for future generations.
The Late Wallace Saad - 1976-1978
With quiet dignity and the respect of the community, Wallace Saad was President during a period of tremendous growth for Cedars. He used his powers of persuasion to solidify various arrangements with the Royal Victoria Hospital and bring structure and vision to Cedars.
Vivian Saykaly - 1978-1982
An original Charter Member of the Cedars Board of Directors, Vivian Saykaly’s creativity, energy and endless devotion were the driving force behind Cedars. She spearheaded many inaugural special events and unique fundraising initiatives which brought Cedars to a whole new level. Under Vivian’s leadership, the Oncology Day Center at the RVH was opened in 1979. A milestone for her was to see her dream of the Cedars Breast Centre for the early detection of breast cancer become a reality.
Jim Hindley - 1982-1985
Jim Hindley has been one of the two longest serving members of the Cedars Board. A good friend of Joe Chamandy, Jim was active on the Board for many years before he became President. During his tenure, he spearheaded the task force to study oncology projects at the hospital, which contributed to a new model for oncology at the Royal Victoria Hospital. Under Jim, the Cedars Golf Tournament was launched. He served as its Chair and mentor for 27 years bringing the golf tournament to monumental heights. A recent quote,” I may have retired from the Cedars Golf Tournament but I have never retired from Cedars.”
Fred Tabah - 1985-1988
A hard working individual who oversaw the 20th anniversary celebration of Cedars and the Testimonial Dinner for his uncle Dr. Edward J.Tabah. During his tenure as President, Fred identified oncology needs of the hospital and supervised the vision to see them through.
The Late Allan Chamandy - 1988-1990
Allan was the nephew of Joe Chamandy and a long time supporter of Cedars. During his years as President, Allan used his strong determination and unrelenting dedication to raise Cedars profile and significance within the Royal Victoria Hospital. He took on fundraising projects with gusto and laid the foundation for today’s important fundraising initiatives. During his presidency, Cedars CanSupport and the Wilfrid Howick Humanitarian Fund providing assistance to cancer patients were established.
Ed Siwiec - 1990-1992
Ed served on the Cedars Board for 11 years, many of them as treasurer, before becoming President. Along with overseeing the growth of the Cedars Cancer Foundation, he used his tenure as President to ensure Cedars’ fiscal accountability. During Ed’s term, the Wilfrid Howick Humanitarian Fund continued to grow and gained great significance for cancer care for our patients.
Mark Kaneb - 1992-1994
Mark’s longtime dedication to Cedars and dynamic leadership skills were a great asset during key growing years. During his presidency, Cedars funds were allocated to several key medical advancements. Under Mark’s leadership, specialized mammography diagnostic equipment for the Cedars Breast Clinic and gamma cameras for the Department of Nuclear Medicine were purchased. Mark’s love of golf was in full evidence as he dedicated himself and the Cedars team to what would be come the largest charity golf tournament in Canada.
Gwendolyn Andrews Nacos - 1994-1996
Gwen Nacos was a role model for cancer advocacy and certainly no stranger to Cedars when she became President in 1994.The founder of Cedars CanSupport (1988), during her years as President of the Cedars Board she commissioned the strategic plan which saw Cedars' entry into the MUHC and she initiated the capital campaign for the renovated E.J.Tabah Oncology Day Centre at Royal Victoria Hospital.
Peter Kouri - 1996-1998
As a young man, Peter inspired all those who knew him with his courageous triumph over cancer. With gratitude and devotion, he dedicated himself to Cedars and in 1996 took over the reigns as President. During his term, several important projects came to volition, most notably the opening of the E.J.Tabah Oncology Day Center. Peter was instrumental in the planning of the renovation of the Medical 7th floor - Hematology / Oncology Ward at the RVH.
Peter Auger - 1998-2000
Peter joined the Cedars board in 1992.  With focused devotion and perseverance, Peter co-chaired with Allan Chamandy the Oncology Day Centre Renovation Capital Campaign that raised an astounding $2.5 million. During his term, Peter saw the official opening of the renovated M7 Hematology / Oncology Ward. As well, Peter oversaw funding for the Prostate Center of Excellence in the Department of Urology. With Cedars' long-term fundraising effectiveness as a priority, he introduced the Souvenir Golf Program Book.
Robert Aziz - 2000-2002
Robert became a member of the Board in 1994. As President, Robert secured many advancements for Cedars. An untiring worker and dedicated individual, he negotiated the new state-of-the- art Cedars Breast Clinic of the MUHC and was instrumental in Cedars' participation in the Saku Koivu P.E.T. CT Scanner for the Radiation Oncology Department.
Nancy Souaid - 2002 – 2004
Following in the footsteps of her dedicated parents, Vivian and Ernest Saykaly, Nancy fulfilled her term as Cedars President with indefatigable determination and grace. She secured Cedars' commitment to support the MUHC’s Best Care for Life Campaign, spearheaded Cedars' participation in the renovation of the F5 West Gynecology - Oncology Ward and supported the MUHC Stem Cell Research Bank. As well, Nancy oversaw the official opening of the newly renovated Cedars Breast Clinic of the MUHC--all this and more during the events surrounding the mammoth 25th Anniversary Golf Tournament.
Michael Khoury - 2004 – 2006
Michael held the presidency during an incredible time of expansion for the Cedars Cancer Foundation and during a period where the demands for funding and support greatly increased. Never afraid to face challenge, Michael worked to get MUHC Oncology to establish “The Cedars Comprehensive Oncology Program”. Under his leadership, the Sarah Cook Fund and Cedars worked together in a comprehensive way. Several advanced and urgently required diagnostic equipment for nuclear medicine, ultrasound and MRI machines were funded. The Ovum Preservation Program was established under his tenure - a key project of humanitarian assistance. Michael raised the administrative effectiveness and profile of Cedars by engaging the organization’s first Executive Director.
Peter Abraham - 2006-2008
During his time as president, Peter ensured a smooth transition for Cedars, going from a fund of the RVHF/MUHC to a fully independent Foundation, accredited with its own tax status as a Charitable Foundation. As well, Stephen oversaw the full integration of the Sarah Cook Fund into Cedars as the “Cedars Sarah’s Fund for Pediatrics”. Over the past few years, he has held a supportive position on the Cedars board as Immediate Past Chairman.

Accueil › À propos › Histoire des Cèdres

Histoire des Cèdres

Il y a près de 50 ans, un groupe de personnes dévouées unissaient leurs forces pour lutter contre le cancer. Depuis, la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres au Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM), anciennement connue sous le nom de la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres, soutient la prestation de soins oncologiques de classe mondiale à
Montréal en recueillant les fonds nécessaires à l’acquisition d’équipement et d’installations médicales et au financement de la recherche et de l’éducation. La Fondation fournit des outils, de l’information et des services de soutien d’une valeur inestimable aux patients et aux familles qui font face à cette terrible maladie. 

La Fondation du cancer des Cèdres au Centre universitaire de santé McGill a été créé en 1966 sous le nom de  « Harley Chamandy Memorial Fund of the Royal Victoria Hospital » et plus tard sous le nom « Fonds des Cèdres contre le cancer » par un groupe de gens dévoués issus de la communauté libanaise-syrienne de Montréal. L’objectif original de l’organisation était, et continue d’être, de recueillir des fonds pour la lutte contre le cancer au Centre universitaire de santé McGill.

Au début la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres a mis l’emphase sur la recherche et l’achat d’équipement et d’installations à la fine pointe de la technologie pour le traitement et le diagnostic de la maladie. Au courant de plus de 40 ans, nous avons concentré nos efforts sur les soins aux patients et l’éducation. Grâce au programme Faire Face de la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres ainsi que le Fonds de dotation humanitaire Wilfrid Howick, nous fournissons aussi un réseau de soutien psycho-social et humanitaire aux personnes atteintes du cancer et à leurs familles. Le grand engagement des Cèdres envers l’éducation sur le cancer est démontré par la création de la Bourse de recherche du Fonds des Cèdres contre le cancer. Celle-ci donne l’occasion à des spécialistes de continuer leur instruction de façon à en faire profiter l’hôpital, l’université et, par-dessus tout, le patient.

De plus, la Fondation a créé deux chaires annuelles en oncologie, amenant ainsi des chercheurs, des éducateurs et des médecins de renommée internationale aux centres hospitalo-universitaires de l’Université McGill. Un de ces médecins titulaires se retrouve au Service d’oncologie médicale dans le cadre de la visite Vivian Saykaly, laquelle a été rendue possible grâce à une généreuse dotation faite par la famille Saykaly en l’honneur de Vivian. L’autre médecin titulaire profite de la dotation de la visite de médecin titulaire « Edward J. Tabah ».

Tabah, laquelle se déroule en oncologie chirurgicale. Pour refléter les multiples façons de réaliser ses buts, la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres est connu comme une organisation qui cherche constamment à trouver de meilleurs chemins créatifs pour faciliter le défi du cancer et son effet sur la vie des gens.
 


Présidents Sortants


Joseph Chamandy
1966-1976
Wallace Saad
1976-1978
Vivian Saykaly
1978-1982
Jim Hindley
1982-1985
Fred Tabah
1985-1988
Allan Chamandy
1988-1990
Ed Siwiec
1990-1992
Mark S. Kaneb
1992-1994
Gwendolyn Nacos
1994-1996
Peter Kouri
1996-1998
Peter Auger
1998-2000
Robert Aziz
2000-2002
Nancy Souaid
2002-2004
Michael Khoury
2004-2006
Peter Abraham
2006-2008
Steven Hajaly
2008-2010









Joseph Chamandy -1966-1976
Cet individu dynamique et infatigable s’en est bien sorti d’une tragédie personnelle, puis ensuite s’est assuré que les Cèdres prennent un bon départ. Ayant été le premier Président des Cèdres, Joe Chamandy a su mettre à l’œuvre son dévouement et ses aptitudes pour ainsi assurer un fonds solide et viable qui, dorénavant, serait la base des générations futures.
 
Feu Wallace Saad - 1976-1978
Avec une sereine dignité et un respect de la communauté, Wallace Saad a été le Président pendant une période de croissance fabuleuse pour les Cèdres. Il a utilisé ses forces de persuasion pour solidifier diverses ententes avec l’Hôpital Royal Victoria et procurer une structure et une vision aux Cèdres.
 
Vivian Saykaly - 1978-1982
Membre originaire du Conseil d’administration des Cèdres, la créativité, l’énergie et le dévouement illimité de Vivian Saykaly ont été la force qui a mené les Cèdres. Elle a lancé et a participé à plusieurs événements particuliers par des initiatives de levée de fonds pour emmener les Cèdres à un niveau plus haut. Sous la direction de Vivian, le Centre de jour en oncologie de l’HRV a ouvert ses portes en 1979. Son rêve est devenu réalité lorsque son jalon qui est celui de créer un Centre du sein des Cèdres pour le dépistage précoce du cancer du sein a pris naissance.
 
Jim Hindley - 1982-1985
Jim Hindley a été l’un des deux membres ayant œuvré le plus longtemps au Conseil d’administration des Cèdres. Un bon ami de Joe Chamandy, Jim a été très actif auprès du Conseil pendant de nombreuses années avant d’en devenir le Président. Pendant son mandat, il a dirigé le groupe de travail pour l’étude des projets en oncologie à l’hôpital, avec la réalisation d’un nouveau modèle pour l’oncologie à l’Hôpital Royal Victoria. Sous la direction de Jim, le tournoi de golf des Cèdres a été crée. 
Il a siégé en tant que Président et a agi comme conseiller durant 27 années. Grâce à lui, le tournoi de golf a atteint le plus haut sommet. Une citation toute récente, « J’ai pris ma retraite du tournoi de golf des Cèdres mais je ne prendrai jamais ma retraite des Cèdres. »
 
Fred Tabah - 1985-1988
Un travailleur qui a été témoin de la célébration du 20e anniversaire des Cèdres et de l'organisation du Banquet d’honneur pour son oncle le Dr Edward J. Tabah, durant son mandat en tant que Président, Fred a identifié les besoins de l'hôpital en oncologie et en a supervisé la vision pour leur réalisation.
 
Feu Allan Chamandy - 1988-1990
Allan est le neveu de Joe Chamandy et un partisan des Cèdres de longue date. Durant ses années comme Président, Allan a utilisé sa forte détermination et son implacable dévouement pour rehausser le profil et l’importance des Cèdres au sein de l’Hôpital Royal Victoria. Il a pris en charge les projets de levée de fonds avec enthousiasme et a établi la base des importantes initiatives de levée de fonds d'aujourd'hui. Durant sa présidence, le programme CanSupport/Faire Face des Cèdres et le Fonds humanitaire Wilfrid Howick, procurant du soutien aux patients atteints de cancer, ont vu le jour.
 
Ed Siwiec - 1990-1992
Ed a été membre du Conseil d’administration des Cèdres pendant 11 années, œuvrant plusieurs années en tant que Trésorier, avant d’en devenir Président. En même temps que sa responsabilité de faire croître la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres, il a profité de son expérience comme Président afin d’assurer la responsabilité fiscale des Cèdres. Durant le mandat de Ed, le Fonds humanitaire Wilfrid Howick a continué de grandir et de gagner du terrain en soins de la santé pour nos patients atteints de cancer.
 
Mark Kaneb - 1992-1994
Le dévouement de longue durée de Mark envers les Cèdres et ses aptitudes de leadership dynamiques ont été un grand atout durant les années de croissance. Durant sa présidence, les fonds des Cèdres ont été alloués à plusieurs avancements-clés médicaux. Sous la direction de Mark, un équipement de diagnostic de mammographie spécialisé, pour la Clinique du sein, et des cameras gamma pour le Département de médecine nucléaire ont été achetés. L’amour de Mark pour le golf a été tout à fait évident lors de son dévouement et de l’implication de l'équipe des Cèdres au tournoi de golf, devenant au Canada le plus grand tournoi de golf de bienfaisance.
 
Gwendolyn Andrews Nacos - 1994-1996
Gwen Nacos a joué un rôle modèle de plaidoirie du cancer. Elle était déjà connue des Cèdres lorsqu’elle en est devenue la Présidente en 1994. Étant la fondatrice du programme CanSupport/Faire Face (1988), pendant ses années à la présidence du Conseil d’administration des Cèdres, elle a pris en charge le plan stratégique de l’intégration des Cèdres au sein du CUSM en initiant la plus importante campagne pour la rénovation du Centre de jour en oncologie E.J.Tabah à l’Hôpital Royal Victoria.
 
Peter Kouri - 1996-1998
Ce jeune homme a inspiré tous ceux qui l’ont connu par son courageux triomphe contre le cancer. Avec reconnaissance et dévouement, il s’est consacré aux Cèdres et il a été élu Président en 1996. Durant son mandat, plusieurs projets importants ont pris naissance, notamment celui de l’ouverture du Centre de jour en Oncologie E.J. Tabah ainsi que celle de la planification des rénovations de l’unité médicale au 7e étage - Hématologie / Oncologie de l’HRV.
 
Peter Auger - 1998-2000
Peter s’est joint au Conseil d’administration des Cèdres en 1992. Avec son vif dévouement et sa persévérance, Peter a co-présidé avec Allan Chamandy la Campagne majeure de rénovation du Centre de jour en oncologie, par une admirable collecte de fonds de 2.5 millions de $. Durant son mandat, Peter a assisté à l’inauguration officielle de l’unité rénovée M7 Hématologie / Oncologie. De plus, Peter a été responsable du financement du Centre de Prostate par excellence au Département d'Urologie pour accroître de façon prioritaire l’efficacité de collecte de fonds à long terme des Cèdres. Celui-ci a introduit le Livre de programme souvenir de tournoi de golf.
 
Robert Aziz - 2000-2002
Robert est devenu membre du Conseil en 1994. En tant que Président, Robert a réussi à assurer de nombreux avancements pour les Cèdres. Un travailleur infatigable et dévoué, il a négocié la nouvelle Clinique du sein des Cèdres du CUSM, de la plus haute technologie, et a contribué à la participation des Cèdres au scan (tomodensitomètre) P.E.T. CT Saku Koivu pour le Département de radio-oncologie.
 
Nancy Souaid - 2002 – 2004
En suivant les traces de ses parents dévoués, Vivian et Ernest Saykaly, Nancy a réalisé son mandat en tant que Présidente des Cèdres avec grâce et une détermination infatigable. Elle a garanti l’engagement des Cèdres au soutien de la Campagne du CUSM Les meilleurs soins pour la vie, a dirigé la participation des Cèdres à la rénovation de l’unité F5 Ouest – Gynécologie – Oncologie et a offert son support à la Banque de recherche de cellules souches du CUSM. En outre, Nancy a supervisé l’inauguration officielle de la Clinique du sein des Cèdres du CUSM, nouvellement rénovée. Elle a réalisé tout cela et plus encore lors des événements marquant le 25e anniversaire du tournoi de golf.
 
Michael Khoury - 2004 – 2006
Michael a été Président durant une période d’expansion incroyable de la Fondation du cancer des Cèdres. Durant cette période également, les demandes de fonds et de support ont augmenté considérablement. Michael n’a jamais craint de relever le défi et a travaillé à ce que l’Oncologie au CUSM établisse le « Le programme d’oncologie globale des Cèdres ». Sous sa direction, le Fonds Sarah Cook et les Cèdres ont travaillé entièrement ensemble. Ils ont réussi à financer plusieurs équipements de diagnostic avancés, nécessaires et urgents à s’octroyer pour la médecine nucléaire, l'échographie et les machines à résonance magnétique. Le programme de préservation des ovules a été établi lors de son mandat – un projet-clé d’aide humanitaire. Michael a rehaussé l’efficacité administrative et le profil des Cèdres en recrutant le premier Directeur général de l’organisme.
 
 

 

Partager